What’s In a Name?

Yesterday’s Zero to Hero challenge was to think about the title of your blog. I’m pretty set in my title and thought I would explain why for you curious readers.

What does “Yellow Brick Road” make you think of?

Wizard of Oz (at least for me). Which leads you to Kansas. Which leads me to my title. 3 years ago (pretty much to the day) I moved from Vancouver, BC, Canada, to a small town Hillsboro, Kansas. To go to a small, conservative, school, Tabor College.

It turned out to be the best decision of my life.

In order to keep everyone back home up to date with my life (and without having to tell everyone individually) I decided to start a blog. (and if you wanted to check it you can find it here)

The blog was all about life away in Kansas, and the title fit the journey.

Then I graduated, moved back to Canada, and moved my blog to this site. But I kept the name.

Along the way I realized moving to Kansas wasn’t the only journey I would ever go on. It wouldn’t be my only adventure. So the title still fits me. And it reminds me of some of the best years of my life.

I also realized that it is not about the destination. I don’t know where I will end up, but the journey is the fun part. So I will lay down one yellow brick at a time and it will turn into a road that will make up my life.

Leave a Reply

