Being Young

I’m young. I get it, really I do. I just graduated. I am working my first “real” job. I don’t have a whole lot of “real world” experience.

Lately being young seems to mean others can use and abuse me.

And it’s subtle, oh so subtle, but there nonetheless.

It’s there in the way my head teacher talks to me as if she can create me in her own image.

It’s there in the way my boss tries to work around labor laws as if I don’t know my legal rights.

It’s there in the way parents don’t ask for my opinion regarding their child’s developmental progress.

It’s always there.

But here’s the thing:

I was trained in social work. I know assessments. I know development. I know development progress and developmental delays. I know the current standards for all these things. And I have the tools to properly assess a child.

I am not a blank slate for someone else to write on. I’ve written a lot. I have thoughts and opinions and desires and passions.

I can learn a lot from experienced people. But they can learn a lot from me too.

So here is my advice:

Are you like me? Young and just starting your career? Learn from the people around you, but stick to your convictions. They matter.

Are you working with someone young? Teach them, but also listen to them. They may know more than you think.

Leave a Reply

