You are More

This song showed up while I was listening to a playlist earlier this week and it is one of my absolute favorites.

It is a song by a wonderful Christian band, Tenth Avenue North, and the lyrics (and video) are so powerful.

The first time I heard it I felt like it was written specifically for me. Every word I heard, I saw myself in it. I was going through a rough patch, struggling with my identity, with some things I had done, with how a God could be gracious enough to love and forgive me.

And then I heard this song. And I listened to it again and again and again. And slowly, the words sank into my head. There is so much truth in them, and I think it is a truth we all need to hear sometimes.

Because isn’t it the truth? Aren’t we all ashamed of something and unsure about how to recover from it? Don’t we all try to do better but then fall short of our own goals?

And don’t we all forget who God is in our moment of weakness and the aftermath?

“You’ve been remade”

The last line of the chorus. That is the truth we all forget sometimes. God remade us. So even though I fall down and make mistakes and have no idea how to overcome my failures, it doesn’t matter. Because God is bigger and God has remade me. I have been remade in His image.

And that is a truth I dwell on.

 

***Video not working in your country? It’s not working in mine either! Click here instead!

Leave a Reply

