It’s the Little Things

Little things make all the difference, don’t they?

Little compliments bring a smile to a face.

Little improvements make you feel better.

Little steps toward your future feel like progress.

But what about the other way?

Little white lies, little compromises, little mistakes. They make all the difference too.

In church on Sunday we were talking about Samson and the little things he does that causes big problems for him. And it got me thinking, what little things do I do that could cause me big problems?

Because we all do it. We all justify some things, we say it’s okay, not that big of a deal, it doesn’t mean anything.

But it does, doesn’t it?

Samson touches a dead lion, violating a vow he had made, and it doesn’t seem like a big deal. It’s just a dead body.

But it’s a step away. Away from God. Away from God’s plan.

And eventually all the little steps you take away from God turn into one large leap. And eventually it seems insurmountable.

So maybe it’s not worth it.

Maybe telling that small lie isn’t worth getting away with something. Because eventually you will feel free to lie again and to lie bigger.

Maybe uttering that curse word isn’t worth looking cool to peers. Because that small compromise could lead to more compromises. It could lead to other things you never thought you’d do to look good to your friends.

What are the little things I have been willing to compromise that I shouldn’t?

I have been willing to compromise a lot to fit in with my friends. I think I see it clearly now when I see some friends in completely different places because they took all the little steps. I see it in them, and don’t want it in myself. I don’t want to make those compromises.

I have been willing to compromise a lot for my own entertainment. Maybe it doesn’t seem like a big deal but I enjoy watching TV (and watch way too much of it), I enjoy reading, I enjoy playing on my phone, and communicating with people. But I compromise for that entertainment. I spend less time with God than I should because I would rather watch TV. I let go of good habits in favor of bad ones.

What are the little things you have been willing to compromise?

The good news is that God as a big amount of grace.

And that small steps in the right direction make a big difference too.

Leave a Reply

