40acts: Write it Down

journal

I’ve always enjoyed writing, but have never been good at journaling with any consistency. Now this blog is my version of a journal. Just one for everyone to read.

But the act of journaling is important I think. It’s a time to reflect on things. To get your thoughts out. To see where you were and where you are going.

It makes sense then that the first challenge of 40acts is to start a journal. How else are we to see what this challenge accomplishes? How else are we supposed to record the things that happen?

There are two questions asked in this first act:

What things are you thankful for today?

Since starting Thankful Thursday I have been focused on finding things that I am grateful for each week. But for this, I thought I would think of things on a larger scale:

  • I am thankful for my family. I love them and I hate them, but they are mine forever, and I am thankful for that.
  • I am thankful for my job. It might not be my ideal job, but I have one, and I get paid, and I can’t complain.
  • I am thankful for my church. Moving back home has been made easier by my church and the community I have found myself in. It makes a world of difference.
  • I am thankful for grace. God knows I need a lot of it. And somehow it just keeps coming.
  • I am thankful that I have more than enough. I do not want for things (except for things that I don’t even really need)

Who do you want to bless through 40acts?

This one was harder. It takes thought to think of people you want to impact. But I did come up with some.

  • My coworker. We don’t always see eye to eye. And she often comes across as bitter and resentful. Maybe I could bless her in some small way and make a difference.
  • A close friend. We have drifted apart through my move to Kansas and I so want to change that, but the effort on her part is not always there. Maybe it is time for that not to matter anymore. Maybe I can bless her and change our relationship.
  • My family. Sometimes they are just people I live with. People who do a lot for me. It is time to pay it forward.
  • My kids. They are so much fun and sometimes I am so frustrated with the situation or with them. I would like to be happier for them. To do more for them. To touch their lives in some ways.
  • A stranger. I have always wanted to be the person who could do something for a stranger or talk to a stranger, but have never been brave enough. I think there is something so amazing about people who can make an impact on a person they’ve never met before and will never meet again.
  • Myself. It might be selfish, but I want to make an impact on myself. And I think giving to others is a good way to inspire myself to change.

 

I hope you enjoy this journey as much as I think I will. Or join me if you wish.

It could be life changing.

 

Leave a Reply

