I am a Social Worker

I never thought I would fall into something like I did social work and know it was where I was meant to be.

You see first I went to a large public university studying psychology.

And then it just didn’t work. It has seemed good at first. But then the more I learned, the more I realized this wasn’t exactly what I wanted to to.

After all, what does one do with a Bachelor’s Degree in Psychology?

So then I searched for something else.

And along came social work.

When I eventually got into a social work program (in Kansas of course) I learned so much.

And the more I learned the more I knew.

I fell in love.

Everything I learned I wanted to learn more.

The more I learned the more passionate I became.

The more passionate I became, the more I knew it was where I belonged.

I am a social worker.

I am still discovering where I want to go in that. What field I want to work in.

The more I think about it I know I want to work with children who have been victims of abuse and neglect.

When I tell people this their first response is “oh, that is a hard field”.

It happens to be a pet peeve of mine.

Because I know it’s a hard field. I know it will be difficult and emotional. I know I will see horrible things. So you don’t need to tell me.

I can handle it. I know what I’m doing. And I know what I’m getting myself into.

I am a social worker.

Leave a Reply

