A Little Boy with a Big Smile

When I started my job in September I did not know what to expect.

It was my first job ever after all.

But in this job I have met some very interesting people.

Some I’ve learned a lot about. And not all of them good things.

But I want to tell you about one 4 year old boy.

This boy is one of 9 children. (yes 9, you heard me right)

Oh, and all of them (except for one) is a boy.

And 4 of them are under the age of 5.

Can you imagine?

As if that wasn’t enough, the youngest (the girl) was born with a heart defect and has had every complication in the book. She’s been in and out of the hospital and had numerous surgeries.

As if that wasn’t enough, this little boy has special needs. He has Autism and a speech disorder.

And I get to work with him every day.

And every day he brings a smile to my face.

He is a cheerful child. He finds joy in everything. He laughs, or rather giggles, at everything. He talks non-stop (which is awesome because when he first started he hardly talked at all)

He is a smart child. He has learned more than we ever thought he could. Well, to be honest, I always thought he was capable of it. It was other people who put him down. And we proved them wrong.

He’s shy at times. He’s sad at times. He throws fits at times.

But he’s so friendly. He draws pictures for me. He tells me funny things about his brothers. He tells me he wants to be like his daddy.

He has friends. He likes to help everyone. He brings a lightness to our classroom.

He is amazing. I’m glad I get to work with an amazing kid like him.

Leave a Reply

