A Place to Belong 

Two years ago I wrote this post about being the new kid at work. 

At the time I was feeling too new, like I wasn’t fitting in, and wondering if I ever would fit in. 

In the post I wrote that someday I would look back on it and laugh.

And here I am, laughing. 

I don’t know when it happened. When I went from being the new kid to belonging there. 

But I belong now. 

It’s been two years. I’m in a new position now. But I still feel like I belong. 

My coworkers have become friends. 

We laugh together. We cry together (in theory anyways, not in real life). We talk, we support, we help. 

It’s a great atmosphere. One I’m glad I belong to. Without it I couldn’t do the work that I do. Without it I would have quit a long time ago. 

The place you work matters a lot. Especially in social work. The support of your teammates is invaluable. Having people who understand the work and the toll it can take on a person. 

It is one of the biggest factors in taking care of yourself I think. 

Without a supportive work environment there is nothing. 

Work becomes home. It’s a place you are all the time after all. It needs to be a place you belong. 

And I belong. 

I belong to a family of social workers. 

Leave a Reply

