Mind, Body, and Soul 

What is health? 

I focus a lot on physical health when I think about health. And, to be honest, I am not physically healthy. 

I’m a tad bit lazy and I like my junk food a bit too much. 

But physical health isn’t everything. There is more then just my body at play here. There is also my mind and my soul. 

And health is a complete picture of those three things. One is not enough. One will not keep me standing for long. One will not keep me happy, healthy, and sane. 

And so here is the question I ask myself: how to do I keep myself wholly healthy? 

I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately. Again, with my new position in child protection I feel an urgency to this that I didn’t feel before. I feel a need to have a plan. To take care of myself. 

So here is my plan:

Mind: I spend a lot of time staring at a screen. Some of that is healthy, like this blog. This will continue to be a place where I can process my thoughts and write them down. And this is one way to keep my mind healthy. But what else? I’ve added art to my week. More on this later but I think that it is another way to work my mind.  I hope to turn the tv off more. The fact that this is not a clear goal should tell you how committed I am to it. Maybe read more (I already told read a lot). Journal in nature. I’m not sure what other ideas I have for this or what else will help. 

Body: like I said, I’m a tad bit lazy. I’m honestly not sure when I was last at the gym (actually it was like couple months ago doing Zumba). So how do I motivate myself to get exercise? I’m really asking cause I have no idea. My hope is to start going to some classes, starting in the fall, that will be a bit more interesting then just free gym. I also want to start doing some simple (think five minute) excercises at home. (Send over some suggestions if got them). And I want to walk more. It’s hard cause it rains a lot here, but it’ll be a goal. 

But body health is more than just excercise. I want to eat healthy. (Or healthier at least) And what will work for me is rethinking lunch. I plan to work on some meal plans and have Sundays as meal prep days. So far this worked this week. My hope is this will help me put some more thought into my lunch and start a healthier eating trend. 

Soul: for me this is the most important area. I am a Christian. I believe in God. And it is the most important thing to me. But it is also easy to let slip away, to not focus on the daily discipline. So I’m trying to be committed. And there are several things I plan to do: go to church. Seems simple but that time of worship is invaluable. Spend more time in prayer. Again, a no brainer, and yet something I’m not very good at consistently. Bible study during breakfasts. I was good at this for several weeks and then suddenly it disappeared. Now I will start again: every morning with my breakfast I will read a passage from the Bible and answer some questions. Memorize scripture. Every Sunday I will pick a verse and spend the week memorizing it. I may have been a Christian basically my entire life and yet have very little scripture memorized. Time for that to change. I also plan to use these weekly verses and dwell on them for the week and use it as the inspiration for drawing. I am not an artist, but I think it will be good to try something new. To draw what is in my mind. To express myself through art. 

So there you go. This is my self care plan. My plan to be wholly healthy. 

I hope the motivation I am feeling now will remain. That I will commit to the vision that I have for my life and I will grow as a person. 

Stay tuned for an evaluation of this plan. And my commitment to it. 

And if you have any suggestions to add to this, send them my way!

Leave a Reply

