Mistakes 

Mistakes happen all the time. 

You accidentally take the wrong lunch to work. 

You accidentally call the wrong number.

You accidentally forget to do what you said you would do. 

You use the wrong name, say the wrong thing, say what you were thinking but didn’t mean to say. 

Mistakes can define you. 

Even the smallest mistake can run around and around in your head. Reliving it. Figuring out how not to do it again. 

I’ve made some mistakes at work lately. 

And mistakes at work could jeopardize the safety of a child. 

I haven’t finished things in time. 

I’ve listened to the advice of the wrong people. 

I haven’t done what I should have done. 

So far, the consequences haven’t been grave. 

But I’m not used to making so many mistakes. I’m not used o having so little confidence in myself and my abilities. 

And these mistakes go around and around in my head. I wonder where I went wrong. I wonder how I could have done better. I think through my decisions and second guess them all. 

I’m good at my job. Well, decent at least. I’m new. I don’t always know what to do or how to do it. 

I hope that I will only have to make these mistakes once. That I will learn. 

And I’m smart. I will learn. 

And mistakes are part of learning. And part of any job, or really anything that happens in life. 

This is my reminder to myself: I will make mistakes. And they might be big. Or small. Who really knows. But they will happen. And I will grow from them. I will not repeat them again. Even if I have to be talked to by my supervisor, it will be okay. Mistakes do not make me incapable of my job. Mistakes do not mean I am stupid. Mistakes are a learning opportunity. A growing opportunity. 

So now it’s time to let it go. To move on. To take a deep breathe in and breathe out the day. To learn and to grow. 

Today is gone and can’t be changed. 

Tomorrow is a new day. 

And it will have its own mistakes. 

And it will be okay. 

Leave a Reply

