Ready, set…date?

I’m single. 

I’m 26 years old. I’ve never been in a serious relationship. I’m single. 

I’ve had a love-hate relationship with my singleness. As most people do I think. 

I want to be in a relationship. I want to be with someone, to get married, to have children. I want to have a person in my life who knows me, who loves me, who challenges me, who complements me. 

But I enjoy being single. Being with myself. Answering to no one but me. Life on my terms. 

I’ve believed, and still do, that part of the reason I have remained single is to work on myself. To be happy with myself. To be content with myself. To know who I am, and to be who I am with God. 

And I’ve done that. I know who I am. I am closer to God then I ever have been. And I am content with my life. Even while wanting more.

But here’s the thing, I do want more. 

But where do you find it?

I love my church, nearly everything about it. But the one downside is there are very few single people (male or female). So I’m not finding a relationship there. 

My friends don’t have a lot of single friends. And if they do, they probably don’t share my religious beliefs which would be a deal breaker. 

I’m not going to bars, I don’t talk to random strangers at the coffee shop, I’m not part of any clubs or groups. 

So where does that leave me?

Well, in this world of online living, I guess that leaves online dating. 

So I did it. 

And now I am nervous about it. This is an intentional decision to date. To change my life. To be vulnerable. To open up. To have a relationship. 

And maybe that’s what I want. In fact it is what I want. 

But the choice is scarey. 

It’s a leap of faith.

I’m not even sure I know what I’m looking for in a relationship. In a partner. 

Maybe this won’t work. Maybe it will just be another learning experience. Maybe st the end of it I will be in the same place I am now. 

Or maybe not. 

Either way, I won’t know until I try. 

So here goes nothing. 

Read, set, date. 

Leave a Reply

