The Eyes of the Beholder

Any One Tree Hill fans out there? 

I’ve been watching it lately (binge watching it to be in fact). It was quite a while ago where there was this episode where they are exploring their identities with a partner. Brooke Davis, who is rich, beautiful, talented, successful, and popular, shares her insecurities with her partner and it results in this picture:


I think this is how we all feel sometimes. These are the insecurities that come out. 

I’m not good enough. 

Not pretty enough. 

Not tall enough. 

Not smart enough. 

Not talented enough. 

Not outgoing enough. 

Not open enough. 

The list can go on and on and on. 

I can tell you all the things that I am not enough of. 

A couple of weeks ago, in a sermon, my pastor said: when God looks at you, he doesn’t see your flaws. He sees Jesus. 

I know it’s obvious. But it is also profound. 

I could tell you all the reasons that I am not enough, that I don’t deserve the grace of God, that I don’t deserve salvation. 

I could make a list of the things I don’t do that I should, and the things I do do that I shouldn’t. 

I could (and do) break myself down in every way imaginable. 

And when I do, I wonder how God could love me. How God could forgive me. How God could keep me. 

 But here’s what I was reminded of: God doesn’t see me, he sees Jesus. 

And the truth is I’m not deserving. I’m not good enough. And yet, Jesus died for me. 

And in that image that I posted of Brooke Davis, that is what I see. What the world see. 

But not what God sees. God sees the perfect sacrifice of Jesus. 

And that is all He sees. 

Leave a Reply

